Available 24/7

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Endangering Public Transportation

Endangering Public Transportation | Passenger Facing Charges

Endangering public transportation charges in Aurora can result from situations where someone threatens or injures a bus driver or passenger. Threatening injury to an operator, crew member, attendant, or passenger on board any public transportation is a serious crime in Arapahoe County. Earlier this month, a Colorado man was arrested after allegedly becoming upset with other passengers on an RTD bus and threatening them with a knife. Charges like these need the attention and representation of an experienced criminal defense attorney.

What is Endangering Public Transportation in Colorado?

C.R.S. 18-9-115 addresses the crime of endangering public transportation in Aurora, Centennial, and Englewood. Someone commits this offense if they:

  • (a) tamper with a facility of public transportation with intent to cause any damage, malfunction, nonfunction, theft, or unauthorized removal of material which would result in the creation of a substantial risk of death or serious bodily injury to anyone; or
  • (b) stop or board a public conveyance with the intent of committing a crime thereon; or
  • (c) on a public conveyance, knowingly threaten any operator, crew member, attendant, or passenger:
    • (I) with death or imminent serious bodily injury; or
    • (II) with a deadly weapon or with words or actions intended to induce belief that such person is armed with a deadly weapon; or
  • (d) on a public conveyance:
    • (I) knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person; or
    • (II) with criminal negligence causes bodily injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon.

Additionally, the man in the above story is also facing charges of menacing and harassment for his conduct on the bus.

Penalties for Endangering Public Transportation in Colorado

The consequences of conviction for endangering public transportation in Arapahoe County are severe. This is a class 3 felony throughout the state of Colorado, potentially resulting in:

  • 4 – 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • up to $750,000 in fines

Losing your temper on a bus or engaging in an altercation on the light rail is incredibly risky and can lead to particularly impactful ramifications.

Colorado Endangering Public Transportation Attorney

Facing a charge of endangering public transportation in Colorado requires immediate help from an especially skilled defense lawyer. This particularly complex felony offense can negatively alter a defendant’s life for quite some time. Perhaps you didn’t board the public transportation with intent the commit a crime or your words were misinterpreted as threats. Nevertheless, contact the skilled attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC for a free initial consultation. We will carefully analyze this complex situation, as well as suggest next steps in forming a defense on your behalf.

If you or someone you know is facing a charge of endangering public transportation in Colorado, be smart. Contact the strategic defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo Credit: Unsplash – Manki Kim

 

Subscribe to receive Colorado criminal law updates.

We will send you updates on Colorado criminal law after each legislative session. 

more articles

What Are Your Fifth Amendment Rights?

What Are Your Fifth Amendment Rights?

What are your Fifth Amendment Rights? Your right to remain silent is one of the most important and yet most unasserted rights that individuals possess. Find out if your rights were violated by the police by calling Musell Law at (720) 454-3998.

Read More »
Three Tips for How to Conduct Yourself When Being Arrested

Three Tips for How to Conduct Yourself When Being Arrested

The feeling of an officer slapping a pair of cold metal handcuffs on your wrists can be overwhelming. During an arrest, it can be difficult to know what you should do. What should you say to the police, if anything? What should you avoid doing? Knowing how to conduct yourself during an arrest can help

Read More »
What Happens If I Missed My EC Hearing?

What Happens If I Missed My EC Hearing?

People commonly ask us what happens if I missed my EC hearing? People accused of DUI realize that Colorado DUI laws are tough. If you refuse a blood or breath test or have a BAC of 0.08 or above, you will receive an Express Consent Affidavit and a Notice of Revocation. What do these two

Read More »
Scroll to Top