What Constitutes Incest in Colorado?
Incest occurs when two related individuals from the same blood lineage engage in sexual contact or penetration. This includes natural and adopted children, step-children, whole or half brothers and sisters, uncles, aunts, nephews, nieces and others who are related fully or in part.
Incest is often a very complicated issue, and a proper defense against incest charges requires the skill of a Denver sex crimes attorney who knows how to present a successful defense in court. Incest is a felony in Colorado, and all convicted incest and aggravated incest offenders can expect a lifetime of supervision by law enforcement authorities in addition to the requirement to register on the state sex offender list. Incest is a class 4 felony that can impose a sentence from 2 years to life on probation or in prison.
Aggravated incest convictions occur when the victim is less than 10 years of age or when the offender is married to their natural child, adopted child, or stepchild. These acts are considered class 3 felonies and thus carry a sentencing range from 4 years to life on probation or in prison. Both incest and aggravated incest are subject to Colorado’s Lifetime Supervision Act.