Available 24/7

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
misdemeanor theft attorney

Misdemeanor Theft Attorney in Boulder, CO

Theft is a crime in Boulder, CO that involves intentionally stealing someone else’s property. It is typically a misdemeanor offense when the item(s) stolen falls in the range of $50 to under $2,000. Shoplifting is the most commonly seen form of larceny, but many other actions can lead to a significant criminal charge. When the value of stolen items adds up, potential consequences follow suit. With the high cost of something like smartphones these days, stealing someone’s mobile could lead to substantial ramifications. Consulting a proven misdemeanor theft attorney can make a significant difference in the outcome of any theft case.

Colorado Theft Statute 18-4-401

C.R.S. 18-4-401 defines the conduct associated with theft in Boulder County. In reference to misdemeanor theft, someone commits this offense when the item(s) stolen range from $50 – $1,999 and they do one of the following:

  • take someone’s property stating they will return it but never do so,
  • take another’s property via deception,
  • take a loan from another person and refuse to pay it back within 72 hours of the agreed time frame

It is also important to note that co-owning some type of property with another person can factor into a theft charge. If you choose to take such property without the co-owner’s consent, a charge can result even though you may own part of the item(s).

What is the Jail Time for Theft in Boulder?

Potential jail time in misdemeanor theft convictions depends on the value of the property stolen. Below is a quick outline of possible consequences:

  • $50 to $299 = class 3 misdemeanor / up to 6 months in county jail / fine of $50 – $750
  • $300 to $749 = class 2 misdemeanor / 3 – 12 months in county jail / fine of $250 – $1,000
  • $750 to $1,999 = class 1 misdemeanor / 6 – 18 months in county jail / fine of $500 – $5,000

In each of the above situations, a restitution payment to the victim may apply as well.

Boulder Misdemeanor Theft Attorney

There are unique circumstances in any theft situation that require careful analysis by an expert misdemeanor theft attorney. Perhaps you were in fact the sole owner or you didn’t knowingly take the property. The police are also known to commit misconduct from time to time, which can work to your advantage as a defendant. In order to understand these intricacies, we recommend that you contact our office to schedule a free consultation with one of our seasoned defense attorneys. We will take the time to hear your side of the story and outline next steps, all while prioritizing your best possible outcome.

If you or someone you know is facing theft charges, be smart. Contact the highly rated criminal defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo Credit: Pexels – Andrzej Jarzebowski

Subscribe to receive Colorado criminal law updates.

We will send you updates on Colorado criminal law after each legislative session. 

more articles

What is the Difference Between DUI and DWAI in Colorado?

What is the Difference Between DUI and DWAI in Colorado?

A lot of time and money goes towards a driving under the influence case. If you don’t want a ticket for speeding, drive the posted limit. If you don’t want a ticket for distracted driving, then put away that cell phone. Almost 100 percent of motorist collisions and road offenses are preventable. This is equally

Read More »
Hit and Run Lawyer

Hit and Run Lawyer in Arapahoe County

Hit and run charges aren’t uncommon throughout Colorado and seem to spike in the warmer months. With more cyclists, joggers, and walkers out and about, drivers should use extra caution in order to avoid significant criminal charges. A van was recently located in Colorado that is believed to be involved in a hit and run

Read More »
Promotion of Obscenity to a Minor

Promotion of Obscenity to a Minor | Denver Defense Attorney

Promotion of obscenity to a minor in Denver is a charge that results from sharing sexual material with anyone under the age of 18. Posting an image of intimate parts, sending lewd items via direct message, or communicating pornographic material electronically can all lead to criminal charges in Colorado. A man was recently extradited to

Read More »
Scroll to Top