How Much Does A DUI Cost
How much does a DUI cost in Colorado? The answer to this question depends on the factors of your case. The cost of a DUI in Colorado is high. Here are some of the costs associated with a DUI in Colorado.
How Much Does A DUI Cost – First offense
A first DUI offense is likely to get you a minimum jail sentence of about 5 days with a possibility of maximum jail sentence of up to a year. First time DWAI penalties hold a possibility of a minimum 2-day sentence with maximum 180 days of incarceration.
Fines involved with first time DUIs in Denver can range from $600 to $1000. In addition, convicted drivers must agree to anywhere between 48 to 96 hours of community service. An administrative penalty includes 9 months suspension of license along with an added 12 points on your driver’s license.
Fines involved with DWAIs range from $200 to $500 with around 24 to 48 hours of public or community service. Administrative penalties might not include license suspension, though 8 points are added to your license.
How Much Does A DUI Cost – Second offense
Second DUI charge can lead to possible mandatory minimum 10 days in jail with a maximum sentence of a year. Second DWAI charge can lead to a possible 5 days mandatory jail time with possibility of spending up to a year in prison.
Second DUI and DWAI charge leads to a fine of $600 to $1000. A DUI will get you administrative penalty of license suspension for a year as well as 12 points being added to your driver’s license. The person convicted will also have to serve anywhere from 48 to 120 hours public service.
How Much Does A DUI Cost – Third offense
Third time DUI and DWAI offenders can be possibly convicted for a minimum of 60 days to a year in prison with a fine of $600 to $5000. In addition, administrative penalties include 2-year license suspension and up to 120 hours community service in Denver, Colorado.
Alcohol Intake, Education, and Therapy Class Costs
•An Alcohol intake evaluation at a Colorado certified alcohol education and treatment provider will cost anywhere between $40 – $100.00.
•Level II Alcohol education classes costs range between $25 and $35 per two-hour class per week and last for twelve (12) weeks.
•Level II Alcohol therapy classes cost range between $25 and $35 per two-hour session. The amount of therapy hours will depend on which alcohol therapy track you have been assigned.
•Track A = 42 hours or 21 sessions, Track B = 52 hours or 26 sessions, Track C = 68 hours or 34 sessions, Track D = 86 hours or 43 sessions.
Useful Public Service Hours Charge
Mosts county criminal justice community service departments charge you a fee between $60 – $100.
CONTACT US FOR A FREE