Available 24/7

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Denver Menacing Charges

A Guide to Denver Menacing Charges

Threatening another person can lead to menacing charges in Denver. When someone makes threats or takes actions that place another in fear of injury, law enforcement is often quick to act. If a deadly weapon is involved, the charges escalate substantially. While we all say things we regret when we’re angry, threatening violence or making gestures that scare others can be costly. Consult an experienced criminal defense attorney quickly if you’re facing menacing charges in Colorado.

Denver Menacing Law

Denver’s menacing laws prohibit striking fear of injury in others via certain acts. CRS 18-3-206 addresses the specific violations of menacing throughout Colorado. Someone commits this crime in Denver, Cherry Creek, or Lodo if they:

  • knowingly place or try to place someone in fear of serious bodily injury,
  • by threats or physical actions

If during an attempt to menace another person you mention you’re armed with a deadly weapon or display one, the crime grows in severity. Guns, knives, and many metal tools count as a deadly weapon in Colorado. The next time you’re in a heated argument, watch carefully what you say and who you say it to. Domestic violence enhancements are also common in menacing cases.

When is Menacing a Felony in Denver?

Cases of menacing that don’t involve use or mention of a deadly weapon are class 3 misdemeanors. A conviction for making criminal threats in Denver can include:

  • up to 6 months in county jail,
  • a fine of $50 – $750

However, when a defendant uses or references a deadly weapon within the threat, a class 5 felony applies. Felony menacing in Colorado can lead to:

  • up to 3 years in DOC,
  • fines of $1k – $100k

Convicted felons face many uphill battles in Colorado, including trouble finding / maintaining stable employment, renting a place to live, and navigating negative assumptions about their trustworthiness.

Denver Menacing Attorney

Seeking skilled representation is the first step in Colorado menacing cases. Look no further than the strategic criminal lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC. We have over 40 years of combined experience defending clients throughout Colorado’s many courtrooms and consistently achieve favorable results. Perhaps the things you said weren’t threats or a deadly weapon never came into play. That said, contact our firm for a free consultation. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make strategic defense a reality in these uncertain times.

If you or someone you know has been charged with menacing in Colorado, be smart. Contact the results-driven lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

Subscribe to receive Colorado criminal law updates.

We will send you updates on Colorado criminal law after each legislative session. 

more articles

Domestic Violence Charges

Domestic Violence Charges in Jefferson County

Domestic violence charges in Jefferson County, Colorado don’t just come about when partners or former lovers resort to physical violence against one another. Something as simple and common as a heated argument can be enough for police presence outside your home, condo, or apartment. If a neighbor or bystander in Lakewood or Golden feels uncomfortable

Read More »
Vehicular Assault Lawyer

Vehicular Assault Lawyer in Adams County

Vehicular assault is an offense in Adams County, Colorado that involves driving in a reckless way, causing serious bodily injury. Additionally, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence and causing some type of serious bodily injury to another can result in criminal charges as well. This charge almost always accompanies a situation involving someone

Read More »
Third-Degree Assault

A Guide to Third-Degree Assault in Jefferson County

When facing a charge of third-degree assault in Jefferson County, Colorado there are vital elements to understand. This charge often results when someone experiences bodily injury as a result of your actions, recklessness, or criminal negligence with a weapon. Sometimes, 3rd degree assault even stems from injuries that weren’t caused purposefully. Whether you lost your

Read More »
Scroll to Top