Harassment is a crime in Aurora, Colorado that often involves things like repeatedly following someone in public, making excessive phone calls, and sometimes cyberbullying. Additionally, when someone chooses to use obscene language or gestures directed at another in a public place, charges of harassment can result. In a day and age where a great deal of our interactions occur via text, direct message, and on many social media platforms, a charge of harassment isn’t far off. Anyone facing an accusation or charge surrounding any of these behaviors should consult an expert harassment defense attorney.
What is Legally Considered Harassment in Aurora?
C.R.S. 18-9-111 defines the conduct of harassment in Arapahoe County and throughout the state of Colorado. A person can face harassment charges if with the intention of harassing, annoying, or alarming someone they:
- strike, kick, or shove someone,
- direct obscene language or gestures at another in public,
- follow a person in public,
- electronically communicate with someone (cyberbullying),
- repeatedly call a person,
- excessively attempt to communicate with someone at inconvenient hours,
- repeatedly taunt or insult another using offensive language
As you can see, a great deal of actions and different communication can lead to a criminal charge. When these behaviors are done via electronic means (social media, text, direct message) the interactions become easily obtainable by law enforcement. Some argue that the legal definitions of harassment infringe upon First Amendment rights, while others see the definition as particularly broad and far-reaching.
What are the consequences of harassment charges in arapahoe county?
Typically, harassment is a class 3 misdemeanor in Aurora, Centennial, and Greenwood Village. Potential consequences of conviction include up to 6 months in county jail, as well as fines of $50 – $750. Sometimes, a judge may decide to sentence a defendant to probation based on several different factors that their defense attorney can highlight. In cases where harassment occurred because of a person’s race, religion, color, ancestry, or national origin, a class 1 misdemeanor applies. Punishment in these situations can be up to 18 months in jail and also increased fines of $500 – $5,000.
How Do You Get a Harassment Charge dismissed in Aurora?
Any charge of harassment requires immediate and expert help from an experienced harassment defense attorney. Each and every case is unique and some can result in dismissal. Others, however, require a different approach to obtain the best possible outcome. A seasoned criminal defense lawyer can provide insight and guidance as to what the right course of action is in your unique case, all with a favorable result in mind. Perhaps you didn’t intend to annoy or alarm anyone or the communication wasn’t obscene or offensive. Nonetheless, contact out office to schedule a free consultation with a strategic harassment defense attorney.
If you or someone close to you is facing a harassment charge, be smart. Contact the skilled defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pixabay – nastya_gepp