Available 24/7

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Vehicular Assault Lawyer

Vehicular Assault Lawyer in Adams County

Vehicular assault is an offense in Adams County, Colorado that involves driving in a reckless way, causing serious bodily injury. Additionally, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence and causing some type of serious bodily injury to another can result in criminal charges as well. This charge almost always accompanies a situation involving someone being injured by a drunk driver. Due to the serious potential consequences of conviction, hiring an experienced vehicular assault lawyer is essential if you’re facing accusations or charges.

Vehicular Assault in Thornton

C.R.S. 18-3-205 defines the specific elements of vehicular assault throughout Colorado. A person commits this crime in Thornton, Commerce City, or Brighton if they:

  • drive recklessly or under the influence,
  • AND the driving is the proximate cause of someone’s serious bodily injury

As a strict liability crime, it doesn’t matter if the driver intentionally meant to injure someone or not. If a person chooses to drive recklessly or under the influence (alcohol or drugs) and causes injury, that can be enough to fit the crime of vehicular assault.

A common occurrence of vehicular assault is when someone attempts to drive home drunk and hits a pedestrian. Whether at a party, sporting event, concert, or even out for dinner, Colorado’s streets are full of walkers, joggers, and cyclists that can easily be injured by a vehicle.

How Long Can You Go to Jail for Vehicular Assault in Colorado?

Vehicular assault that involves reckless driving is a class 5 felony in the state of Colorado. Conviction can lead to 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, as well as up to $100,000 in fines. However, when driving under the influence applies to a vehicular assault, a class 4 felony applies. 2 – 6 years in prison and a minimum fine of $2,000 are potential punishments.

In some cases, an aggressive and strategic defense attorney can mitigate these punishments to perhaps probation with community service and alcohol / drug treatment.

Adams County Vehicular Assault Lawyer

Navigating vehicular assault charges in Thornton or Commerce City can be treacherous. Drivers often feel overwhelmed, scared, and unsure of where to turn next. Fortunately, the skilled criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC are prepared to form a strong defense on your behalf and help protect your future.

Perhaps the alleged victim in your case wasn’t seriously injured or the DUI chemical test wasn’t reliable. Nevertheless, contact our office today for a free initial consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing accusations throughout Colorado.

If you or someone you know is facing vehicular assault charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly rated criminal lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by Per Loov

Subscribe to receive Colorado criminal law updates.

We will send you updates on Colorado criminal law after each legislative session. 

more articles

identity theft lawyer

Identity Theft Lawyer in Jefferson County, CO

Identity theft in Jefferson County, Colorado is a serious offense that involves using another person’s information to make purchases. Conviction can result in years in prison and fines in the six figure range. Earlier this year, a case of identity theft was discovered in Colorado after a husband noticed 4 new mobile phone lines opened

Read More »
Third-Degree Assault

A Guide to Third-Degree Assault in Jefferson County

When facing a charge of third-degree assault in Jefferson County, Colorado there are vital elements to understand. This charge often results when someone experiences bodily injury as a result of your actions, recklessness, or criminal negligence with a weapon. Sometimes, 3rd degree assault even stems from injuries that weren’t caused purposefully. Whether you lost your

Read More »
Can A Restraining Order Be Lifted in Colorado?

Can a Protection Order Be Lifted in Colorado?

In the state of Colorado, when a person is abused, threatened, stalked, harassed, or a victim of domestic violence, they may petition the court for a civil protection order. A protection order protects a petitioner from contact with the restrained person. But what happens if the parties wish to reconcile? What if the terms are

Read More »
Scroll to Top