Arapahoe County vehicular assault occurs when an individual operates a vehicle in a reckless manner or under the influence, and that driving results in serious bodily injury to someone else. Many injuries can fit under the umbrella of serious bodily injury. They also may occur either at the time of the accident or at a later point. Whether charged in Aurora, Englewood, or Centennial, this serious Colorado felony comes with significant consequences. Therefore, hiring an experienced vehicular assault lawyer is a critical step in protecting a defendant’s future.
arapahoe county vehicular assault
C.R.S. 18-3-205 defines the circumstances of Vehicular Assault in Colorado. The major factors of this offense include:
- someone drives recklessly or under the influence of drugs / alcohol,
- the driving is the proximate cause of serious bodily injury to another person
In these cases, it is irrelevant as to whether the driver intended to injure someone or not. Instead, the focus is on whether the driver voluntarily drove recklessly or chose to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Driving recklessly means that someone is consciously ignoring a substantial risk that their operation of a vehicle could result in harm to another person or property. Driving under the influence refers to operating a vehicle after using alcohol and / or drugs making a driver incapable of exercising clear judgement, sufficient physical control, or due care.
Vehicular Assault Penalties in Colorado
Potential punishments for Vehicular Assault in Arapahoe County depend whether the driving was reckless or under the influence. Seriously injuring another person as a result of reckless driving is a class 5 felony that can result in 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and a fine of between $1,000 – $100,000. It is a more serious offense if the significant bodily injury was the result of driving under the influence. Now a class 4 felony, possible ramifications of conviction can include 2 – 6 years in prison and fines of $2,000 – $500,000.
Arapahoe County Vehicular Assault Lawyer
Vehicular Assault charges occur only when someone is very seriously injured in a traffic accident. Law enforcement and district attorneys are often quick to act in order to demonstrate that they’re holding someone accountable. Consequently, mistakes can be made that may be in a defendant’s favor. Careful analysis of case details from a criminal defense attorney can highlight these inaccuracies. Findings can reduce a charge or even lead to dismissal. However, speaking with police or providing statements of any kind can hinder the chances of a favorable outcome. Take the next step in fighting for your future by calling a skilled vehicular assault lawyer for a free consultation.
If you or someone you know is facing a vehicular assault charge, be smart. contact the reputable defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – freestocks.org