Trespassing is a crime in Adams County, Colorado that involves unlawfully entering or remaining on another’s property. While we often see signs posted in various locations, some choose to ignore them or enter premises without authorization. Earlier this month, an MLB pitcher’s wife was arrested for disorderly conduct and trespassing after continually attempting to enter a stadium with an oversized bag and refusing to leave. Any accusations or charges of entering or remaining somewhere unlawfully requires contacting a skilled trespassing lawyer.
Trespassing Laws in Adams County, Colorado
C.R.S. 18-4-504, 18-4-503, and 18-4-502 define the specific violations of trespassing in Thornton, Commerce City, and Brighton. Three different degrees of criminal trespass exist in Colorado and depend on the type of property and intent behind entering or remaining. Someone commits third-degree trespass in Adams County if they:
- unlawfully enter or remain,
- in or upon the premises of another
This degree of criminal trespass often applies when the location itself isn’t a dwelling of some type and there isn’t a fence. When these factors do apply to the location, second-degree trespass applies. Additionally, common areas of hotels and apartment buildings, as well as someone’s car apply to 2nd degree trespass.
Finally, the most serious form of trespassing in Colorado is first-degree trespass. These cases involve someone unlawfully entering or remaining in a another person’s home. Going inside someone’s vehicle intending to commit a crime there (such as theft) also applies to 1st degree trespass.
How Bad is a Trespassing Charge in Colorado?
The consequences for a trespassing conviction in Colorado can range from a fine / probation all the way up to 3 years in prison. The following outlines the possible penalties in Adams County:
- 3rd Degree Trespass = class 1 petty offense (up to 6 months in county jail and up to a $500 fine),
- 2nd Degree Trespass = class 3 misdemeanor (up to 6 months in county jail and up to a $750 fine),
- 1st Degree Trespass = class 4 felony (1 – 3 years in prison and fines of $1,000 – $100,000)
It isn’t uncommon to see domestic violence accompany a trespassing charge either. If someone unlawfully enters a residence or workplace of a current (or former) intimate partner, a mandatory protection order can apply, further complicating the situation.
Adams County Trespassing Lawyer
Whether facing trespassing accusations in Thornton, Commerce City, or Brighton, representation from an experienced criminal defense attorney is crucial. Perhaps you were lawfully on the property or didn’t intend to commit an offense while there. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free initial consultation. We will carefully analyze your unique trespassing case and suggest next steps. Our defense attorneys offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing criminal accusations throughout Colorado.
If you or someone you know is facing trespassing charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly rated criminal criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Free To Use Sounds