Hit and run charges aren’t uncommon throughout Colorado and seem to spike in the warmer months. With more cyclists, joggers, and walkers out and about, drivers should use extra caution in order to avoid significant criminal charges. A van was recently located in Colorado that is believed to be involved in a hit and run that seriously injured a cyclist. The driver allegedly fled the scene after striking the man on his bike. Those facing charges of leaving the scene of an accident should contact a skilled hit and run lawyer immediately.
What is Considered a Hit and Run in Aurora?
C.R.S. 42-4-1602 describes leaving the scene of an accident involving damage in Colorado. When a driver is involved in a traffic accident that includes hitting an occupied vehicle or pedestrian, they are required to remain at the scene. Additionally, Colorado drivers must also provide aid to anyone injured. Failing to meet these requirements or fleeing the scene can result in hit and run charges.
Accidents involving property or an unoccupied vehicle also include requirements such as trying to locate and notify the owner or attaching a note with your name, address, and the registration number of your vehicle. Drivers must still report these accidents to law enforcement as well and return to the scene if asked.
What is the Sentence for a hit and run in Colorado?
The consequences of a hit and run in Aurora, Centennial, and Englewood vary depending on whether the vehicle was occupied and the extent of injuries. If someone hits an unoccupied vehicle and fails to report the accident, a class 2 misdemeanor applies. Penalties can include up to 3 months in county jail and fines between $150 – $300. A class two misdemeanor also results from leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage.
When non-serious injury occurs in a hit and run, a class 1 misdemeanor is charged. Up to 1 year in jail and fines of $300 – $1,000 are potential ramifications of conviction. Finally, fleeing the scene of an accident that involves serious bodily injury or death is a felony offense in Arapahoe County. Possible consequences include 2 – 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and fines of up to $750,00. Additionally, any conviction of leaving the scene of an accident can result in a revoked driver’s license and restitution to the victim(s).
Can Hit and Run Charges be Dropped in Colorado?
The facts of each hit and run case are different and therefore, so are the outcomes themselves. A reputable hit and run lawyer with substantial experience defending traffic accident charges is essential in obtaining the best possible outcome. The highly rated criminal defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC have over 40 years of combined experience representing clients throughout Colorado. Perhaps you were too injured to remain at the scene or you left to get help for someone else. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free consultation with a hit and run lawyer who will carefully analyze your unique situation and suggest next steps.
If you or someone you know is being accused of leaving the scene of an accident, be smart. Contact the strategic defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Hassan Ouajbir