Harassment charges in Arapahoe County, Colorado stem from many different actions. Physical contact, obscene language, following someone, or repeatedly contacting another person can lead to criminal penalties in Aurora, Centennial, and Littleton. Earlier this month, a man was arrested on a harassment charge after allegedly placing women’s underwear on cars parked near a popular mall and following a shopper. Accusations or charges of criminal harassment in Colorado require skilled representation from an experienced harassment lawyer.
Colorado’s Harassment Law | C.R.S. 18-9-111
C.R.S. 18-9-111 describes the elements of criminal harassment throughout the state of Colorado:
- A person commits harassment if, with intent to harass, annoy, or alarm another person, he or she:
- (a) Strikes, shoves, kicks, or otherwise touches a person or subjects him to physical contact; or
- (b) In a public place directs obscene language or makes an obscene gesture to or at another person; or
- (c) Follows a person in or about a public place; or
- (e) Directly or indirectly initiates communication with a person or directs language toward another person, anonymously or otherwise, by telephone, telephone network, data network, text message, instant message, computer, computer network, or computer system, or other interactive electronic medium in a manner intended to harass or threaten bodily injury or property damage, or makes any comment, request, suggestion, or proposal by telephone, computer, computer network, computer system, or other interactive electronic medium that is obscene; or
- (f) Makes a telephone call or causes a telephone to ring repeatedly, whether or not a conversation ensues, with no purpose of legitimate conversation; or
- (g) Makes repeated communications at inconvenient hours that invade the privacy of another and interfere in the use and enjoyment of another’s home or private residence or other private property; or
- (h) Repeatedly insults, taunts, challenges, or makes communications in offensively coarse language to, another in a manner likely to provoke a violent or disorderly response.
Is Harassment a Misdemeanor in Colorado?
Harassment is typically a class 3 misdemeanor in Aurora, Centennial, and Englewood. Conviction can lead to penalties of:
- as many as 6 months in county jail,
- fines of $50 – $750
A harassment situation amplifies if the conduct was due to the victim’s race, color, ancestry, or religion. When these factors are present, criminal harassment becomes a class 1 misdemeanor in Arapahoe County. Punishments can include:
- 6 – 18 months in county jail,
- fines of $500 – $5,000
It also isn’t uncommon for a harassment charge to accompany the sentence enhancer domestic violence when the case involves conduct between current or former romantic partners. Mandatory arrests and restrictive protection orders complicate matters in these cases, further necessitating experienced representation from a criminal defense lawyer.
Arapahoe County Harassment Lawyer
When seeking representation to fight harassment charges in Colorado, it is essential that you find an attorney capable of applying specific defenses to your unique case. Perhaps you didn’t intend to annoy or harm anyone or the harassment wasn’t because of their race, color, or religion. Nevertheless, contact our office 24/7 for a free initial consultation. We will carefully analyze your harassment case and recommend next steps, all while making the best possible outcome our priority.
If you or someone you know is facing harassment charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the strategic criminal defense attorneys at O’Malley & Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Ruffa Jane Reyes