When facing a charge of third-degree assault in Jefferson County, Colorado there are vital elements to understand. This charge often results when someone experiences bodily injury as a result of your actions, recklessness, or criminal negligence with a weapon. Sometimes, 3rd degree assault even stems from injuries that weren’t caused purposefully. Whether you lost your temper or hurt someone thinking you were defending yourself, speak with an assault lawyer as soon as possible. Your record, reputation, and future are worth protecting.
Jefferson County Third-Degree Assault Law
Jefferson County’s 3rd degree assault law prohibits inflicting certain bodily injury on someone. CRS 18-3-204 addresses specific violations in the state of Colorado. You commit assault in the third degree in Lakewood, Arvada, or Golden if you:
- knowingly or recklessly hurt a person,
- or with criminal negligence injure someone with a deadly weapon
Bodily injury often refers to someone feeling pain or sustaining a cut, scratch, or bruise. An assault that results in a broken bone, chipped tooth, or significant burn will not be charged as third-degree assault.
Is 3rd Degree Assault a Misdemeanor in Colorado?
While assault in the third degree is a misdemeanor in Colorado, it is a class 1 and an extraordinary risk crime. As a result, penalties are more severe. A conviction can result in:
- 6 – 24 months in county jail,
- a maximum fine of $5,000
Jefferson County Assault Attorney
Whether you’ve been accused of assault in Lakewood, Arvada, or Golden, skilled representation is important in your case. When law enforcement comes along asking questions, stop. Exercise your right to remain silent and call an experienced assault attorney. We have decades of experience defending clients charged with assault throughout Colorado and our results stand alone. Perhaps you were acting in self-defense, there was a lack of intent to injure anyone, or you’re facing a false accusation. Nonetheless, contact our law office today for a free consultation. We will carefully analyze your unique assault case, as well as suggest next steps. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing allegations throughout Colorado.
So, if you or someone you know is facing assault charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly-rated criminal lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio