Failure to register as a sex offender is a crime in Lakewood, Colorado that tends to put society on edge. Because sex offenders are presumed to be dangerous, incurable people, their information and whereabouts must be updated either quarterly or annually. Missing the deadline or submitting partial or inaccurate information can lead to yet another criminal charge. The strict and sometimes overbearing requirements for sex offenders are vast and mistakes can happen along the way. Consulting an expert sex crimes attorney can be the difference when a charge of failing to register as a sex offender arises.
Failure to register charge in colorado
C.R.S. 18-3-412.5 describes the crime of failure to register as a sex offender in Colorado. There are a plethora of details that must be provided when one completes a registration with their local law enforcement agency. Failing to accurately report any of the following is unlawful:
- full legal name (current and any former),
- addresses (in each jurisdiction where an offender resides),
- date of birth,
- current photograph,
Charges can also result from providing false information to a sheriff, judge, or probation / parole officer. Even things like an email address, chat room identity, and make / model / color of owned or operated vehicles must be fully and accurately notated.
Is Failing to register as a sex offender a felony in colorado?
It can be. Failure to register as a sex offender is an extraordinary risk crime in all Colorado counties. Consequently, the maximum incarceration sentence is amplified. Failure to register is a class 1 misdemeanor for those whose prior conviction was a misdemeanor offense. Potential consequences can include 6 – 18 months in county jail and fines of $500 – $5,000. However, if an offender was convicted of a felony sex offense and fails to register, a class 6 felony applies. Punishments can include 1 – 2 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and fines of $1,000 – $100,000. Additionally, should an offender fail to register a second time, consequences of a class 5 felony apply.
what happens when you fail to register as a sex offender?
As you can see, quite a lot. The requirements surrounding sex offender registration are strict throughout Colorado and failing to comply can mean especially harsh consequences. If you’ve failed to register or have questions surrounding you or a loved one’s registration, contact our office to speak with an experienced sex crimes attorney. We understand the rigid grip sex offenses can have on someone’s life. Perhaps there were uncontrollable circumstances that impacted the ability to comply or a defendant complied as soon as they were able. Nevertheless, schedule a free consultation with one of our highly rated defense lawyers where they will carefully analyze your unique situation and suggest next steps.
If you or someone you know is facing a failure to register as a sex offender charge, be smart. Contact the expert sex crimes attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Pixabay