Available 24/7

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Drug Possession Attorney

Drug Possession Attorney in Adams County

Drug possession charges in Adams County can come about when someone knowingly and unlawfully possesses a controlled substance. Being in possession of certain highly addictive drugs such as cocaine, heroin, and methamphetamine is a crime even if there is no intent to sell or distribute. A controlled substance violation can apply to both recreational drugs and prescription medications. Any accusations or charges surrounding controlled substances necessitates contacting an experienced drug possession attorney.

Unlawful Drug Possession in Colorado

Possession of highly addictive and commonly used drugs without a prescription is addressed in C.R.S. 18-18-403.5. Misdemeanor possession charges can result when someone possesses schedule III, IV, or V controlled substances unlawfully. This includes drugs such as:

  • anabolic steroids,
  • medications with small levels of codeine or morphine,
  • Valium,
  • Xanax,
  • prescription sleep medications

These substances have both accepted medical use and a lower potential for abuse.

However, unlawful possession of schedule I or II controlled substances is a felony in Thornton, Commerce City, and Brighton. Schedule II substances such as Vicodin, Oxycontin, cocaine, and methamphetamine have very restricted medical use and a high potential for abuse. Schedule I drugs such as heroin and LSD have the highest potential for abuse and no current accepted medical use.

Penalties for Unlawful Possession of a Controlled Substance in Adams County

Unlawfully possessing a schedule V, IV, or III substance is a level 1 drug misdemeanor throughout the state of Colorado. Conviction can result in 6 – 18 months in county jail and up to $5,000 in fines.

When someone illegally possesses a schedule II or I substance, a level 4 drug felony applies. This can mean up to a year in the Colorado Department of Corrections and fines of up to $100,000. Additionally, aggravating factors such as being on probation or parole and prior felony convictions can increase punishments. An additional year in prison is a possibility in these situations.

Adams County Drug Possession Attorney

Whether facing drug possession charges in Thornton, Westminster, or Commerce City, the stakes are high and skilled representation is essential. Perhaps you weren’t aware what you possessed was a controlled substance or there was a smaller amount of the substance than prosecutors are claiming. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free initial consultation with a top drug possession attorney.

Our defense attorneys have decades of experience defending clients facing complex drug charges throughout Colorado. We also offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans so that strategic defense is a reality for the accused.

If you or someone you know is facing drug possession charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the top criminal defense attorneys at O’Malley & Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo Credit: Pixabay – lechenie-narkomanni

Subscribe to receive Colorado criminal law updates.

We will send you updates on Colorado criminal law after each legislative session. 

more articles

Hit and Run Lawyer

Hit and Run Lawyer in Arapahoe County

Hit and run charges aren’t uncommon throughout Colorado and seem to spike in the warmer months. With more cyclists, joggers, and walkers out and about, drivers should use extra caution in order to avoid significant criminal charges. A van was recently located in Colorado that is believed to be involved in a hit and run

Read More »
Child Abuse Attorney

Child Abuse Attorney in Denver

Child Abuse occurs in Denver, Colorado when a person harms a child or places a child in a situation that may be harmful. The spectrum of consequences for a child abuse conviction are especially wide. Key elements of these cases are whether the child was injured and the frequency and seriousness of the alleged abuse.

Read More »
What Happens If I Missed My EC Hearing?

What Happens If I Missed My EC Hearing?

People commonly ask us what happens if I missed my EC hearing? People accused of DUI realize that Colorado DUI laws are tough. If you refuse a blood or breath test or have a BAC of 0.08 or above, you will receive an Express Consent Affidavit and a Notice of Revocation. What do these two

Read More »
Scroll to Top