Domestic Violence in Denver, Colorado isn’t a charge itself. Instead, it is an “add-on” crime. Acting as a sentence enhancer, the charge of domestic violence adds additional penalties to other offenses like Assault, Harassment, or Stalking. Because domestic violence carries such a broad definition, it is easy to face charges throughout Colorado. Unfortunately, the tendency for police, district attorneys, and judges is to make assumptions of guilt and support any and all “victims.” Hiring a skilled domestic violence attorney is by far the best way to combat both allegations and assumptions.
What is domestic violence in denver?
With the many facets of domestic violence, it is important to remember a few key elements in its definition:
- an act or threatened act of violence by the defendant against someone who is or has been in an intimate relationship with the defendant
- any other crime against a person, property, or animal if used as a method of coercion, control, punishment, intimidation, or revenge
An intimate relationship includes those between spouses, former spouses, past / present unmarried couples, or parents of the same child. While a sexual relationship of some kind might be a sign of an intimate relationship, it doesn’t have to exist for the relationship to be “intimate.” Relationships that are typically void of the intimate tag include acquaintances, friends, co-workers, or roommates.
Consequences for Domestic Violence Convictions in Denver
Domestic violence situations are especially difficult to navigate. If police implicate you in a domestic violence case, an arrest follows. An alleged victim may not want to press charges. Nonetheless, police are mandated to arrest. Furthermore, a restraining order applies at the onset of arrest, regardless of whether the alleged victim desires it or the allegations are false. In addition to the sentence for the crime committed, the domestic violence conviction can add:
- a domestic violence treatment program + evaluation
- forbid possessing or owning a firearm
- restraining order prohibiting any contact with the alleged victim
Additionally, if 3 prior convictions of domestic violence exist on your record, a subsequent offense can lead to a habitual domestic violence offender label. This is a class 5 felony in Colorado. 1-3 years in prison and a fine of $1,000 – $100,000 can be added to the underlying crime.
should i hire a domestic violence attorney?
In short, absolutely! Our attorneys have over 40 years combined experience navigating domestic violence cases. We place the best possible outcome for our clients as the top priority. We also work diligently through your case from start to finish. It is essential that you not face domestic violence allegations or charges alone. Don’t talk to the police and give them statements of any kind. Consult an expert criminal defense attorney to protect what matters.
If you or someone you know is facing domestic violence charges, be smart. contact the defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: rawpixel – 378878