Theft charges in Denver can occur when someone intentionally steals another’s property. Value is a major determining factor when it comes to the severity of theft charges. While shoplifting smaller items from stores is typically a misdemeanor offense, stealing items of greater value like jewelry, pricey electronics, personal information, and money can lead to felony charges. When under investigation for theft or when facing a theft charge, consulting an experienced criminal defense attorney is crucial to your future.
Denver’s Theft Laws
CRS 18-4-401 defines theft laws in Denver, Lodo, and Stapleton. A key factor in all theft cases is the figure of $2,000. When the total value of the item(s) stolen is under this number, a misdemeanor applies. However, cases that involve theft of items valued $2,000 or more are felony offenses. Additionally, any theft that involves stealing property from an at-risk person or the elderly is a felony, regardless of the value of the item(s). This applies to victims (both adult and juvenile) with a disability and to those 70 years-of-age or older.
Theft Penalties in Colorado
Consequences of a theft conviction in Colorado come with a wide range of possibilities. Below is a brief outline of potential outcomes in Denver when the value of property stolen is less than $2,000:
- $50 – $299 = class 3 misdemeanor (up to 6 months in county jail / $50 – $750 in fines)
- $300 – $749 = class 2 misdemeanor (up to 12 months in county jail / $250 – $1,000 in fines)
- $750 – $1,999 = class 1 misdemeanor (up to 18 months in county jail / $500 – $5,000 in fines)
When the value of stolen items exceeds $2,000 the following punishments can apply:
- $2,000 – $4,999 = class 6 felony (up to 18 months in prison / fines of $1,000 – $100,000)
- $5,000 – $19,999 = class 5 felony (up to 3 years in prison / fines of up to $100,000)
- $20,000 – $99,999 = class 4 felony (2 – 6 years in prison / fines of up to $500,000)
- $100,000 – $999,999 = class 3 felony (4 – 12 years in prison / fines of up to $750,000)
- $1,000,000 or more = class 2 felony (8 – 24 years in prison / fines of up to $1,000,000)
Denver Theft Lawyer
When facing an accusation of theft in Denver, hiring a strategic defense attorney early on is an essential step in your defense. Vital evidence exists that requires careful analysis from a skilled criminal lawyer. Perhaps you were the only owner of the property in question, you didn’t knowingly steal anything, or there was police misconduct. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free initial consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing allegations throughout Colorado.
If you or someone you know has been charged with theft, be smart. Contact the highly skilled lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by AndriyKo Podilnyk