Assault charges in Denver can result from altercations where someone physically injures another person. The degree of assault can be contingent upon the severity of the injuries and if there was any use of weapons. Cases involving serious or lasting injury have amplified ramifications. Earlier this month, a local NBA Star’s brother was arrested on suspicion of assault after an altercation with a woman in a nearby apartment complex. Any accusations or charges of wrongfully hurting another person requires swift representation from an experienced Denver assault lawyer.
What is a Felony Assault in the Second Degree?
C.R.S. 18-3-203 describes the crime of second-degree assault in the state of Colorado. Among the many different behaviors that can lead to a charge, doing one of the following in Denver can constitute 2nd degree assault:
- intentionally causing injury or recklessly causing serious injury with a deadly weapon,
- knowingly using physical force upon a first responder, prison guard, or court employee,
- causing a serious injury while attempting to inflict a less serious injury,
- intentionally suffocating or strangling another person
It is especially vital in assault cases to differentiate between bodily injury and serious bodily injury. A strategic defense lawyer from our office can assess the specifics found in the police report and highlight errors that might pertain to level of injury. Assault charges also often come alongside other offenses like domestic violence, or in the case above, false imprisonment.
Can You Go to Jail for Second Degree Assault in Colorado?
The ramifications of a 2nd degree assault conviction are serious in Colorado. This is a class 4 felony which can lead to:
- 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- a minimum of fine of $2,000
Additionally, a felony on someone’s criminal background is especially detrimental. Difficulties finding stable employment, renting a place to live, and obtaining loans can all become a reality for those found guilty of felony assault. Your reputation and second amendment rights are also in jeopardy if convicted of a felony offense like assault.
Denver’s Best Assault Lawyers | O’Malley & Sawyer, LLC
Fighting a charge of assault in Colorado is an uphill battle, requiring the advice and representation of a top criminal defense attorney. We have over 40 years of combined experience in Colorado’s courtrooms defending clients and fighting for their best possible outcome. We highly recommend that anyone facing an assault charge do the following:
- Exercise your right to remain silent by not giving police statements of any kind,
- Avoid talking about your situation with friends or electronically by text, email, and social media,
- Contact Denver’s best assault lawyers for a FREE consultation
Perhaps your unique situation includes self-defense, lack of intent to injure someone, or the heat of passion. Nevertheless, strengthen your defense by speaking with one of our results-driven attorneys today.
If you or someone you know has been charged with assault in Colorado, be smart. Contact the strategic criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Markus Spiske temporausch.com